1/300 Check Your Six! Jets…and a Test Felid

Posted: October 14, 2010 in Check Your Six! Jet Age, Miniature Games, Tomorrow's War
Tags: , , , , ,

I’m getting ready for this Friday night’s Check Your Six! Jet Age game at Unique Gifts and Games. First up are four 1/300 scale Phantom II’s painted for Vietnam.

 

Four Phantom IIs for Vietnam

 

 

Close up of a Phantom II

 

I got a little silvering on the wing decals. They are from an “off-brand” because I didn’t have any Dom’s Decals for the Americans handy. I plan to go back and edge the decals with the original paint colors to reduce the effect. Next time: Dom’s Decals!

Next up are four Mig 19s for Vietnam:

 

Mig 19s for Vietnam

 

 

Close up of one of the Migs

 

The Vietnamese decals are from Dom and the difference is noticeable. Thanks, Dom, for putting out a great set of products.

We will be playing a scenario straight from the Check Your Six! Jet Age rulebook involving four Phantoms jumping a solitary, low-flying  Mig 19, and in turn being jumped from above by three Mig 19s. Game time as always is 7 PM sharp at Unique Gifts and Games in Grayslake, IL.

Finally, I have continued my descent into the madness of 15mm (1/100) scale science fiction figures for Tomorrow’s War. I will have more photos later of my projects, but I wanted to share a few photos of a test figure for my 15mm Felid (think human-sized intelligent tigers) forces from Khurasan Miniatures.

 

Can't tell if he's angry or hungry...or both!

 

 

His left side is his best side...or so he instructed me while taking photos.

 

 

Yes, definitely his right side...pretty kitty!

 

Closer to actual size.

Again, these are 15mm figures and they have an impressive level of detail. I wanted a simple paint scheme to set against the tiger fur, so I went with a ochre-brown color. The first coat on the base was still drying when I took these photos. I plan to give it a quick drybrush and add some static grass.

Leave a comment