Update on Arab-Israeli 73 Project

Posted: April 21, 2009 in Uncategorized

The initial Syrian force is about 3/4 painted. I am starting on the T-55s with a base color of Russian Green, then adding desert yellow and dark gray camouflage stripes. Syrian infantry, at least this batch, will be in olive drab uniforms with Soviet Green helmets. Ken at UGG has ordered three Mi-8 helicopters for me, so the infantry company attached to them will be painted as Syrian Commandos, who wore French “lizard stripe” camouflage. I’m not sure how I’m going to do that on 1/300 scale infantry, but we’ll see LOL. As for the initial Israeli force, I have them assembled, based and primered. Armor was given a base coat of Army Painter’s Skeleton Bone; the infantry was primered dark green. I will wash the armor with a dark brown wash to bring out the detail, then weather it. Infantry will be drybrushed to the color of US Vietnam uniforms. If all goes well, I should be done with both initial forces by the weekend. I need to use a better camera than my iPhone for armor this size, so I will take pictures at home when I am finished.

I also received an e-mail that my 15mm Peter Pig order has shipped, so I will get to paint this stuff all over again in a larger scale. I am looking for more of a skirmish feel for this scale, so I will probably mount everything as individual tanks and infantry. I am thinking about building a special game board that represents an Israeli fortification/compound. The new Osprey book on Israeli fortifications of the 73 war has been invaluable on information.

Leave a Reply

