Photos of Recent Projects

Posted: September 30, 2009 in Miniature Games, Terrain
Tags: , ,

I promised a few posts ago to show you the finished GW Realms of Battle terrain boards. Here are a few photos:

Looking toward the water boards

Looking toward the water boards

Looking toward the ruined road

Looking toward the ruined road

Closer picture of water areas (formerly "skull pits")

Closer picture of water areas (formerly "skull pits")

As you can see, once flocked and coated, the boards have come out quite beyond my expectations. I am quite pleased with the results for less than one week’s efforts. I now have a 4′ x 6′ configurable gaming table that breaks down into a 2′ x 2′ x 1′ canvas bag. What’s more, it’s very durable and should hold up for many, many years with little to no maintenance.

I’ve also been on a Lord of the Rings kick lately, so I’ll show off my latest afternoon’s project: a house of Rohan.

Gandalf the White stops off to visit

Gandalf the White stops off to visit

The model was based on the excellent instructions contained in The Two Towers Journeybook from GW. It was constructed from foamcore with balsa sheets (the planking is from scoring the balsa with a dull pencil). The roof is cardstock covered with glue-soaked teddy bear fur. Total elasped time was four hours start to finish for construction. Painting added another hour. I also finished Gandalf the White while I was waiting for things to dry. He seems quite happy with the accommodations 🙂 Here are a few more photos of the finished model.

A few riders gallop by

A few riders gallop by

Side detail of the house

Side detail of the house

Now that the house is finished, I am working on a few other Rohan terrain pieces for the board. First, I am putting together some larger tree models to go with the boards. Ultimately I’d like to have enough to do the edge of Fangorn Forest from the novels. Next will be a stable building done in the same style as the house. I also am working on templates to make house building a bit faster, as I have already had several requests from friends for their own Rohan real estate.

Comments
  1. Donogh says:

    These boards look fantastic. Nicely done!

Leave a Reply

