Recent Purchases

Posted: March 28, 2010 in Miniature Games
Tags: , , , , ,

I have had a busy couple of weeks, so there is not a lot of new painting to share. Mostly I have been purchasing and collecting. First of all, I was able to sneak in an order to Crescent Moon for some 15mm painted Middle Eastern buildings before he stopped taking orders again. They should arrive some time in early April. With these and the three other JR buildings I have recently painted, we will be able to fill a 4 x 6 table with 15mm buildings.

Second, I purchased HO bridging material from the local railroad hobby shop for my Nasiriyah bridge attempt. There was a nice highway overpass kit with pillars (picked up two) and a railing set that, while not spot on, is close enough that I bought it as well. Now to sketch out my plan and get to work.

Third up, another order to GZG, which arrived in record time from the UK — thanks Jon! Thinking past my Mars project, I wanted stuff to go with the new Tomorrow’s War rules coming out from Ambush Alley Games that I’m helping with. My Mars stuff is part of the early background, but the later stuff is mostly grav tanks and regular armies duking it out. I ordered about a platoon’s worth of New Israeli’s in battle rattle, plus four grav tanks and four grav APCs. My intention is to paint them up as the 7th Armored Brigade fast forwarded 150 years. Here are a few shots from the GZG website:

New Israeli infantry. Photo from GZG.

NI Grav Tank. Photo from GZG.

NI APC/IFV. Photo from GZG.

Next up, I placed an order for some aliens. I have been blown away by the recent offerings of Khurasian Miniatures. I have ordered Garn, Felids and now Vespids from them. Can’t wait to get the Vespids:

Vespids. Photo from Khurasian.

15mm Garn. Photo from Khurasian.

15mm Felids. Photo from Khurasian.

 Finally, Litko Aerosystems has produced 15mm geomorphic corridor tiles for interior sci-fi fights. Thought I could use these as interiors for my Mars buildings or for boarding actions.

This coming Friday is Ambush Friday again. I will be running Mars and we will most likely have our usual Middle Eastern game as well. Game time is 7:00 PM at Unique Gifts and Games in Grayslake, IL. Hope to see you there!

Leave a Reply

