More Recent Painting

Posted: January 20, 2011 in Miniature Games, Tomorrow's War
Tags: , , , , ,

Shawn at Ambush Alley asked me to paint some figures for possible inclusion in the hardbound edition of Tomorrow’s War. These are some works in progress; the photography will be done by those who know what they’re doing 🙂

First up is a wheeled Claymore APC in 15mm from Old Crow:

Wheeled Claymore APC from Old Crow

Rear view

Top view

I wanted a weathered, battle-worn look to the vehicle. I washed it with black wash and used some Vallejo grime pigment to dirty up the exhaust ports and joint areas. I’m happy with how this is turning out. There are two more of these on the table; one more with the same turret and the second with a communications/command dish in lieu of the gun.

I finished my second Khurasan Lion Transport (to carry around my Puddy-Tats):

15mm Lion Transports from Khurasan

I also got a full squad of 15mm USNC troopers done from GZG. Here is the first fire team:

The helmet idea is stolen from a fellow sci fi painter Kobayachimaru from http://chroniquesdufortbastiani.blogspot.com/. I wanted something different than what has become the “standard” gold face plate since HALO.

Here is the first of my Neo-Soviet Paratroopers. The bases are not finished yet. The figures are Project Slipstream SAS from Micropanzer.

15mm Neo-Soviet Paratroopers

And finally a GZG Grav APC to carry the UNSC troops around. The photo is a little darker than the actual model, but you get the idea.

The model has been heavily weathered to reflect atmospheric reentry and heavy combat.

So that’s my painting update. Skip Peterson and I will be finishing up our models, taking higher quality photographs with terrain and combat situations, then shipping the lot off to Shawn for possible use. I’ll try to post some more photos as the work continues.

Comments
  1. CCGlazier says:

    Very nice. Inspiring too – I’ve got a batch of unpainted 15mm sitting on a shelf I really need to get color on.

Leave a Reply

