Back Painting Again :)

Posted: March 31, 2011 in Miniature Games, Warhammer
Tags: , , , ,

Well, the hand is stiff, but rapidly healing and I have full motion again. I decided to pick up a brush this past week and see what happened. Since my son Will is working on an adaptation of a certain Gothic future to Tomorrow’s War statistics, I thought I’d try my hand at painting up some Space Marines. I figured 28mm would be more forgiving than 15mm at this point. First up are some regular grunts:

Space Marines of the Devil Dogs Chapter

Pleased with how these turned out, I decided to go after a Space Marine scout team with sniper rifles.

Devil Dog scouts with camo'd rifles and cloaks.

Taking exception with the camera man, he draws a bead 🙂

A closer view of the camo pattern

A shot of the other scout's cloak

The base colors were Army Painter Skeleton Bone primer, washed with Vallejo Game Colours Flesh Shade, then highlighted back up with Skeletal Bone, with a final Sepia wash. Camo was done with a stippled pattern of Skeleton Bone and Gray. I have become a huge fan of the GW stipple brush. For the regular Space Marines, trim was applied with Crimson Red followed by Burnished Gold. The bases were simply sand washed with sepia, then drybrushed with first Gray and then a Gray-White mix.

I am very happy with the results and am busily finishing off about twenty more figures, including a Land Speeder and Ironclad Dreadnought in matching colors. The hand is back, baby!

Leave a Reply

