Final Painting Pushes for the Holidays

Posted: November 23, 2011 in Miniature Games
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Well, Legends is over, Cold War Gone Hot is out the door, Thanksgiving is upon us and it’s time to put on the final push for 2011 in terms of painting. After reviewing my unpainted mounds of figures, buildings and projects, here is what I intend to work on between now and December 31:

1) 15mm Vietnam: I am finishing up about 20 more Vietcong (mix of Main Force and Local Force figures from Flashpoint) and have a short platoon of US Army grunts (mix of Flashpoint and Battlefront figures) about 1/2 done on the painting table. This will take priority so I can get some gaming time in.

2) 15mm Vietnam Terrain: I have 3 more Timecast hooches to finish, plus five tunnel/hot spot markers that need to get done. I am using the Khurasan abandoned mine shaft pieces as the basis for the tunnel markers, with some heavy green stuff modifications.

3) 15mm Space Worms from O8: I picked up a few packs from the guys at Picoarmor and want to have a unit of 27 (3 nine-worm squads) done for Tomorrow’s War. To go with them, I have three of Reaper Miniatures cave worm models (the plastic prepaints, not the metal ones) that I aim to repaint as “heavy tanks” for the worms.

4) 3mm Picoarmor: Using one stand = one platoon, I am painting up some 1985 US/NATO and WARPAC forces for a large scale game aimed at the Battalion/Regimental command level. I’m doing my own home grown rules, so I’m keen to get these finished so I can get to working out the mechanics.

5) 28mm Martian Racing Skiffs: I bought some of these models from Brigade Games (they’re the old Parroom Station models) and want to start a beer & pretzels Martian racing league at our local gaming store.

This should take me well through the holidays, so we’ll see how much I’ll actually get done. I’ll post progress reports and pictures as these things get finished.

Comments
  1. Rett says:

    Hi Jim,

    I would really enjoy play-testing your 1985 game. I have been looking for a set of rules in this scale and period for a long time.

    I have also gotten the new FoF Cold War Gone Hot. A great read. Thanks

    Rett

Leave a Reply

